Leadership

A- A A+

Our Leadership is made up of YWCA Staff and the members of the Board of Directors.

Women have held the leadership positions throughout the history of our organization. At the YWCA, most of the administration and program directors and all board members are women. We believe representation matters. Our leadership, along with the whole of the YWCA staff, reflects the efforts the YWCA makes to reach out to women, people of color and other underrepresented groups.

Beth Maczka, CEO

Beth Maczka, Chief Executive Officer | Ext. 201 | beth.maczka@ywcaofasheville.org

Administrative Team

Sala Menaya-Merritt, Chief Program Officer | Ext. 206 | sala.merritt@ywcaofasheville.org

Suzy Johnson, Chief Financial Officer | Ext. 208 | suzy.johnson@ywcaofasheville.org

Management Team

Elizabeth Alvandi, Development Coordinator | Ext. 103 | elizabeth.alvandi@ywcaofasheville.org

Kendra Cowan, Director of Human Resources | Ext. 209 | kendra.cowan@ywcaofasheville.org

Kelley Hubbell, Director of Women’s Empowerment | Ext. 116 | kelley.hubbell@ywcaofasheville.org

Racial Justice & Outreach Specialist | Ext. 219 | 

Denise Purcell, Director of Early Learning | Ext. 106 | denise.purcell@ywcaofasheville.org

Jodi Rhoden, Director of Marketing & Communications | Ext. 203 | jodi.rhoden@ywcaofasheville.org

Kitty Schmidt, Director of Aquatics | Ext. 110 | kschmidt@ywcaofasheville.org

Alesia Summey, Director of Empowerment Childcare | Ext. 113 | alesia.summey@ywcaofasheville.org 

Thomas Tankersley, Director of Facilities | Ext. 107 | thomas.tankersley@ywcaofasheville.org

Leadership Team

Kim Akbar, Early Learning Program Coordinator | Ext. | kim.akbar@ywcaofasheville.org

Melinda Aponte, Nutrition Coordinator | Ext. 117 | melinda.aponte@ywcaofasheville.org

Leah Berger-Singer, Preventive Health Coordinator | Ext. 212 | leah.bs@ywcaofasheville.org

MotherLove Coordinator | Ext. 205 | 

Marty Edes, Fitness Coordinator | Ext. 213 | marty.edes@ywcaofasheville.org

Cameron Manning, Membership Coordinator | Ext. 105 | cameron.manning@ywcaofasheville.org

Getting Ahead Coordinator | Ext. 116 | 

Charlene Shelton, Early Learning Program Coordinator | Ext. 109 | charlene.shelton@ywcaofasheville.org  

Rebecca Buchanan, Finance/HR Assistant | Ext. 218 | rebecca.buchanan@ywcaofasheville.org

Board of Directors

Board Officers

Leslie Fay, President

Betsey Russell, 1st Vice President

Jesica Gaskin, 2nd Vice President

Bobbie Short, Secretary

Lindsey Wilson, Treasurer

Kendall Oliver, Sustainability

Board Members

Veronika Gunter

Wendy Haner

Coryn Harris

Jerri Jameson

Jackie Kiger

Tamarie Macon

Cameron Raley

Chloe White Serapio

Alaina Williams