Leadership

A- A A+

Our Leadership is made up of YWCA Staff and the members of the Board of Directors.

Women have held the leadership positions throughout the history of our organization. At the YWCA, most of the administration and program directors and all board members are women. We believe representation matters. Our leadership, along with the whole of the YWCA staff, reflects the efforts the YWCA makes to reach out to women, people of color and other underrepresented groups.

Administrative Team

Coryn Harris, Chief Advancement Officer| Ext. 207 | charris@ywcaofasheville.org

Suzy Johnson, Chief Financial Officer | Ext. 208 | suzy.johnson@ywcaofasheville.org

Sala Menaya-Merritt, Chief Program Officer | Ext. 206 | sala.merritt@ywcaofasheville.org 

Kendra Cowan, Director of Human Resources | Ext. 209 | kendra.cowan@ywcaofasheville.org

Catalina Slater, Director of Marketing & Communications | Ext. 203 | catalina.slater@ywcaofasheville.org

Management Team

Kelley Hubbell, Director of Women’s Empowerment | Ext. 104 | kelley.hubbell@ywcaofasheville.org

Duncan Macfarlane, Director of Facilities | Ext. 107 | duncan.macfarlane@ywcaofasheville.org

Denise Purcell, Director of Early Learning | Ext. 106 | denise.purcell@ywcaofasheville.org

Kitty Schmidt, Director of Aquatics | Ext. 110 | kschmidt@ywcaofasheville.org

Alesia Summey, Director of Empowerment Childcare | Ext. 113 |alesia.summey@ywcaofasheville.org 

Leadership Team

Kim Akbar, Early Learning Program Coordinator | Ext. 111 | kim.akbar@ywcaofasheville.org

Melinda Aponte, Nutrition Coordinator | Ext. 117 | melinda.aponte@ywcaofasheville.org

Leah Berger-Singer, Preventive Health Coordinator | Ext. 212 | leah.bs@ywcaofasheville.org

Rebecca Buchanan, Finance/HR Assistant | Ext. 218 | rebecca.buchanan@ywcaofasheville.org

Amanda Durst, Development Coordinator | Ext. 103 | amanda.durst@ywcaofasheville.org

Emil Gonsalvez, Membership Coordinator | Ext. 105 | emil.gonsalvez@ywcaofasheville.org

Sonia Kay, MotherLove Coordinator | Ext. 205 | sonia.kay@ywcaofasheville.org

Charlene Shelton, Early Learning Program Coordinator | Ext. 109 | charlene.shelton@ywcaofasheville.org  

Jennifer Tracy, Getting Ahead Coordinator | Ext. 116 | jennifer.tracy@ywcaofasheville.org

Board of Directors

Board Officers

Jesica Hooper

Chair

Ronnetta Copeland

First Vice-Chair

Zakiya Bell-Rogers

Second Vice-Chair

Leah Noel

Treasurer

Board Members

Elizabeth Becker

La’Neice Blessing

Betsy Carr

Kalla Hughley

Alaina Nelson

Jessica Rothenhoefer

Chloe White Serapio

Cynthia Conboy